Old Town (ABQ) CW Cannon Rededication
August 18, 2007
The Plaza's two replica cannons were refitted with stronger and more historically accurate carriages. The Plaza cannons are replicas of the two original 12-pounder mountain howitzers preserved at The Albuquerque Museum of Art and History. Festivities included period music by the New Mexico Territorial Brass Band, unveiling of the cannons and new historical marker, and a flag ceremony conducted by Civil War reenactors including the 1st New Mexico Volunteer Infantry, Artillery Company of New Mexico, and reenactors from Texas and elsewhere.
- During the retreat of the Confederate army back to Texas, following their defeat at Glorieta Pass in April 1862, Major Trevanian Teel buried eight 12-pounder mountain howitzer barrels in a corral about 500 feet northwest of Old Town Plaza.
- Twenty-seven years later, on August 19, 1889, Major Teel returned and excavated the howitzer barrels from the same location. Only two of them have remained in Albuquerque.
- The original cannons were displayed for many years in the Albuquerque Historical Society Museum in the Our Lady of the Angels Schoolhouse and in the center of Old Town Plaza. Due to their rarity and value, they were replaced with replicas in the 1980s.
- The original cannons are now preserved at the Albuquerque Museum of Art and History.
- The cannons were cast in the foundry of Cyrus Alger & Company of Boston, Massachusetts in 1853. The 12-pounder Mountain Howitzer was the smallest cannon of the period and was designed to be transported by mule if necessary. It could fire a 12-pound shell a distance of 1000 yards.
This was a significant day to the NM Company as it provided the opportunity to become acquainted with local reenactors and discover common interests in the Mexican War Period.